Goodbye

Coat, hat, gloves – I mentally checked them off as I slid them on.  The heat in my car wasn’t working and it was cold outside, a fresh snow coating everything.

My footsteps trailed behind me in the snow like a forgotten friend and for a moment I had the urge to step back into them, follow them back up the steps into the house.  But I had to do this.  I had to say goodbye.  Tomorrow I would be in a different town, with a new house to call home.

The car rumbled to a start, loud enough to alert everyone inside that I was leaving, but no faces appeared in the windows and no one came outside to stop me.  So I backed down the driveway into the night.

The cemetery was covered in a hush and fresh unbroken snow.  Nothing stirred there except for me as I walked through the graves, my flashlight showing me the way.

I was starting to wonder if I’d forgotten the way when my flashlight revealed the curved top of a familiar gravestone.

Snow had piled on top and around the stone, but the carved letters were still visible.

I dropped to my knees in front of it, my fingers tracing her name.

“I miss you.”

So, what do you think?

