We All Have Our Doubts, But Honestly, I Could Do Without Mine

Doubt is an ugly thing.

It’s there, in my mind, on the daily.  Sometimes I wonder if I really have what it takes to be a writer.  If I can really do it. Write a novel.  A great novel.

But then I’m like, what does that even mean, “what it takes to be a writer”?  It’s not as if I have to take an exam or pass a series of tests.  Partake some sort of life threatening challenge, where after being left in the middle of the jungle with only a pen and a water bottle, I emerge victorious and am then finally, miraculously, declared an “Author” in front of the entire world.

So since there is no Hunger Games-esque test to complete before becoming an accomplished writer, (there is no test like that right guys? Am I not being told things?) why do I feel so unworthy?

And the biggest question?

Why do I feel like I have to prove myself to be an author?  I love words and reading.  I love writing, have ever since I was small and I continue to find great pleasure in it.

So why can’t I just continue to write and enjoy it and let all this damn doubt take a backseat.

2 thoughts on “We All Have Our Doubts, But Honestly, I Could Do Without Mine

  1. I completely agree. Every now and when our mind and social situations push us to be a competitor and ask to prove ourselves. I believe that there are some areas of life where no competition is required. Its just pleasure, just a raw happiness. So continue following your happiness.

    My blogs at : http://anoptimistic.wordpress.com
    Please visit and provide your feedback.

    Thanks.

    • It’s true. We turn everything into a competition. But I will continue to just write for myself and enjoy it and be happy. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

      And I will definitely check out your blog.

So, what do you think?

